replay loses customer (me), tivo gets one

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by george kaplan, May 10, 2003.

  1. george kaplan

    george kaplan Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    13,063
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had a replay tv since back in 2000, and have been very happy. But now I'm pissed. The modem has gone on the fritz, and it can't connect to their server. It last did so on the 4th, and I noticed this because my programming guide wasn't going past Monday. I've tried everything, resetting the machine, changing the phone number, forcing it to connect. No luck. I called customer service. They had me change modem speed, and all kinds of other things. No luck. But, before they will admit it's the modem and replace it, I have to try a complete reformatting of the hard drive. And lose 60 hours worth of programming. Nearly 30 movies I've recorded off of TCM. Either that, or lose the ability to record anything after Monday. Well, pardon my french, but fuck that. I guess that's their perogative, and they're not losing any money from me at this point, but I probably would have upgraded to a better replay machine at some point, but now, I'm off to the competition.

    So now I have to figure out what tivo to get. I have direct tv, and want to minimize hassles. I guess I'll have to start researching it, though I don't have much time. I really need this up and running by tomorrow. DAMN replay all to hell. [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,310
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
     
  3. MikeSh

    MikeSh Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As far as I'm concerned, the HDVR2 is the way to go if you have or want DirecTv. I bought 1 and in 10 days had convinced the wife for a 2nd one w/o any hassle. A major feat. She really likes it too.

    BTW, I have actually been to South Haven Ms and like it. I get there about once a yr when working in Memphis. We have a big site just across StateLine before the airport.

    MikeS.
     
  4. george kaplan

    george kaplan Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    13,063
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well even though I have direct tv, I ended up with a standalone TIVO, because I just couldn't live with only 35 hours of space. My replay had 60, and the new tivo has 80, and there's no way I could go down to 35.
     
  5. Chris Gerhard

    Chris Gerhard Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Real Name:
    Chris Gerhard
    It is very easy to add additional space to a DirecTV DVR Powered by TiVo. I have a couple that I have added 120GB drives to and have over 140 hours on each. As far as your ReplayTV, you could format a different hard drive and try to do a net connect with a different hard drive. I always have multiple hard drives sitting around but it may not be that everyone does. I use a Showstopper for local channels and it does sometimes have problems connecting. Lowering the speed and selecting a different number sometimes fixes it for unknown reasons.

    You might want to reconsider the decision to use a standalone TiVo with DirecTV. The DirecTV TiVo combo receivers such as the Hughes HDVR2 are so much better. Better picture quality, dual tuners, Dolby Digital audio and cheaper price and cheaper service fees. For only a little more than what you paid for your series 2 standalone, you could have an HDVR2 with 145 hours of capacity at best quality which is all the HDVR2 records. There is no comparison between the two for use with DirecTV. If you can return the series 2, you really should check out the differences before the return period expires. A standalone is great for OTA and basic analog cable but not for DirecTV.

    Chris
     
  6. george kaplan

    george kaplan Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    13,063
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I'm about as unhandy as they come. I've never done any of these hard drive upgrades on any of the replays I've owned (I just bought a bigger replay), and I'd have to be really convinced that I wasn't going to screw it up, since I'd be voiding the warranty. Any links to how this is done that would inspire that kind of confidence in me?
     
  7. Stephen Tu

    Stephen Tu Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  8. george kaplan

    george kaplan Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    13,063
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Keep talking. You've got me thinking.

    While I still have very, very grave doubts about my ability to do a hard drive upgrade, I'm contemplating this. But, let me ask this.

    I currently have DirectTV. Can I just buy this new tivo and hook it up. Or do I need to modify my directtv service, and, God forbid, possibly have to get a new dish, or a new box?
     
  9. Stephen Tu

    Stephen Tu Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Basically yes. The main thing you probably need to do is run another coax line in from the dish or multiswitch for the 2nd tuner. New equipment for the dual tuner capability is required only if you have an old, single LNB output dish. DirecTV would have to be informed you are using new receiver/access card, and that you are retiring your old one (if keeping old one for another TV have to pay $5/month extra receiver charge).

    You can also just run one tuner at first if you don't want to get the second one up right away.
     
  10. Bob Jackson

    Bob Jackson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are an existing DTV customer you can get quite a deal on the HDVR2 with installation and upgrades to existing switches and stuff if needed.

    See http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...hreadid=113026 for a $159 offer + $25 shipping.

     
  11. Jay Heyl

    Jay Heyl Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 1999
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  12. Vickie_M

    Vickie_M Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    George, how'd it work out for you?

    We have 2 DirecTivos, and Chris upgraded both of them. He's a techy and I'm not, but I think I could have done it with those instructions above.

    I'll never give up my DirecTivo...being able to record two things at the same time is heaven to me. It's come in handy for the Olympics, for the Academy Awards, for the 9/11 specials, and so many other things. I'd never want to go back to a standalone and just one channel.
     
  13. george kaplan

    george kaplan Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    13,063
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I did get a DirectTivo, but there's been no upgrading. I'm just not confident enough I could do it, and I couldn't live without it long enough to send it out to have someone else do it. If I run out of space, I'll run out of space [​IMG] , although no doubt I'll buy a bigger one when and if such a beast comes out.
     
  14. Vickie_M

    Vickie_M Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    3,208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have a webcam? I'd bet lots of people here would be willing to talk you through an upgrade over the phone, and if you had a webcam they could see what you're doing.
     
  15. Dmitry

    Dmitry Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1998
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  16. george kaplan

    george kaplan Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    13,063
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dmitry,

    Thanks for the link, but I've been there (I check in every day actually), and I keep seeing "I tried to upgrade and I've ruined my Tivo" threads, which has only scared me more. [​IMG] I'm still thinking about it though.
     
  17. Dmitry

    Dmitry Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1998
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    George, what I meant was find some kind-hearted person nearby who'll be willing to do it for you, thus eliminating the need for it to be sent somewhere. I remember when I bought mine a couple of years ago I was also looking for info on how to do it and there was some guy who wanted his upgraded and wasn't willing to send it nor was technically inclined to do it himself. I think he found somebody in his immediate geographical area who just dropped by and did it for him.
     
  18. george kaplan

    george kaplan Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    13,063
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dmitry,

    I understood what you meant, and in one sense it's a good idea. But in another way, I'd be even more reluctant to do that. What if some kind stranger came into your house and broke your Tivo? You'd be understandably upset at that person, but you really couldn't blame them, etc. If I did have someone else do it, I think I'd have to bite the bullet and go the professional route so there'd be some sort of guarantee. Assuming of course that there is a guarantee. I certainly wouldn't send it out if it came back broken and they just said, "Sorry".
     
  19. Dmitry

    Dmitry Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 1998
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    George, I'm sure that you'll enjoy the TiVo regardless and I won't be pestering you with other ways to enlarge it's capacity any more [​IMG] You definitely make a valid point and if you're not comfortable with whatever approach, you shouldn't do it.
     

Share This Page