Replacing the water pump on a '97 Camry...

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Scott_lb, Jun 29, 2003.

1. Scott_lb

Scott_lb Supporting Actor

In a few weeks I will be replacing the timing belt and drive belts on my 1997 Toyota Camry (75,000 miles). I heard from a friend that it is typically best (i.e., most financially advisable) to also replace the water pump at the same time. In short, he argued that replacing the water pump later on (as it's own job) would cost me much more money than if I was to replace it at the same time as my belts. Does anyone know if this is true? If I had the money I would replace them simultaneously. However, things are a little tight right now, and it would be easier to do them seperately. But if it ends up costing me much more, I'll bite the bullet and do them at the same time. Thanks!

2. Steve Schaffer

Steve Schaffer Producer

Scott,

I'm a Toyota mechanic in a largish dealership in CA.
    If the water pump is not leaking or noisey, leave it alone.
    If the car's cooling system is maintained well (coolant changed every 3 years or 30k miles) the original waterpump will typically last thru until the second or third timing belt replacement.

If you've gone 6 years on this car and never changed the coolant, then it might be a good idea to replace the pump at this time. Modern coolants never wear out as far as their ability to prevent freezing and boiling, but the additives for water pump lubrication and corrosion prevention are only good for 3 years or so.

Additional cost to do the waterpump along with the timing belt is usually 1hr. labor plus cost of pump and new coolant.

If you do decide to replace the pump I strongly recommend getting an OEM pump from the Toyota dealer instead of aftermarket rebuilt.

3. Chu Gai

Chu Gai Lead Actor