What's new

replace reciever (1 Viewer)

-Dman100-

Auditioning
Real Name
Dwayne
Hi,

I just joined the forum. I'm really a novice with home theater equipment and the in's and out's of the home theater setup.

I'm looking at starting to upgrade and replace some old components and get a nice home theater setup.

Currently, I have an old NAD stereo reciever 701, which I've had for well over 15 years. This is probably the first component I would want to replace.

My home theater consists of a Hitachi 50V715 rear projection TV, a time warner DVR box, a toshiba dvd player SD 1800, technics multi disk cd player and two psb speakers. It's not much.

Currently, I don't even have the sound going thru the reciever.

I'm looking to replace all the components including the TV (DLP, LCD or plasma) depending on budget.

I'm interested in learning about recievers, what to look for, and recommendations on which brands top the list. Granted, I don't want to spend thousands of dollars just on a reciever, but I want to get a good setup.

Thanks.

Alon Goldberg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Alon Goldberg
Hi Dwayne, welcome to HTF! The most common receiver brands on the market are Denon, Marantz, Onkyo, Yamaha, Pioneer, and to a lesser extent Harmon Kardon and Sony. Once you get into high-end brands you'd be looking at Pioneer Elite, Integra, Rotel, Arcam and the likes. Depending on your budget, I'd probably start by looking at Denon, Onkyo, Yamaha and Marantz.

A few questions to get you started:

1. What is your overall budget for the home theater system, including receiver, speakers, subwoofer, cabling, surge protector, blu-ray player, universal remote, installation, etc?
2. What are the dimensions of your room?
3. Is this system primarily for music, sports, gaming, movies?
4. What type of music do you listen to?
5. Are you looking to purchase loudspeakers, bookshelf speakers, or satellite speakers?