What's new

Renting of video cassettes- what year did you first notice them being available? (1 Viewer)

Scott Strang

Screenwriter
I noticed it in 1979-1981 somewhere around there. There were no chains in my area; all mom and pop operations. In fact one of them was a Curtis Mathes dealer and wanted a $100 deposit for a membership in their rental club.

I didn't start renting tapes until 1984 when I bought my first VCR. The audio store where I bought all of my stuff back then including the VCR rented tapes with no deposit required and only charged something like $2 a rental. Surely this was to encourage the purchase of VCR's.

I miss that store.

Ashley Seymour

Supporting Actor
Boy, tough to remember these dates. Probably around 1981-83. A mom and pop operation and we had to rent the VCR player at the same time. Kind of a special event to rent one over the weekend and then get two or three tapes.

Around 84 I was a loan officer at a bank and got a request from a young (early 20's) guy and his father to open up a video rental store in Mountain Home Idaho. We had to history of this industry to go on and I think we would only consider it with a lien on the house. The inventory of VCR's and Video Tapes was not sufficient collateral for the loan. I don't know if they got the loan, but the early stores had a chance to be the early McDonalds.

Jesse Skeen

Senior HTF Member
In 1983-84 we often rented VCRs for a few days (all of them were mono), finally got our own in 1985. I remember when most rental stores actually had a PAGE printed out you could take that listed ALL the titles they had! A lot of stores didn't seperate the movies by category either, except the kids movies and adult (XXX). I wish I had some of those padded cases they put the tapes in when you rented them- they had labels inside telling you to make sure the tracking is adjusted and not to put the tape near any magnets.

Jon_Are

Senior HTF Member