What's new

Remotes (1 Viewer)

Chris Bruner

Auditioning
Ok, so is the philips 7000 the best remote under a grand? My goal is to let my family use the theater, right now I'm the only one who can use the system. I have a Panasonic ae700 HD projector, Direct TV / Samsung TS160, Denon 4806 rec, Denon 3910 Dvd, and a Dell PC. Its all switched via HDMI or DVI through the Denon. You would think for $3500 bucks the Denon remote would be a little better like the Marantz/Phillips. Anyone with a similar set up or suggestion would be appreciated

nolesrule

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joe Kauffman
The Harmony remotes are great for the WAF factor, and require less programming time and are less complex to set up than the Philips Pronto line. I've been using my Harmony for almost 3 years now. Never have to pull out the other remotes except when needing to tweek some obscure feature. The online wizards make it a piece of cake. I have set up Harmony remotes for my parents and my aunt and uncle in their homes (they like technology but don't know how to use it) and they don't have problems either.

mylan

Screenwriter
I have been thinking about getting a 880 for some time but I have some reservations about macros. How do I set it up to keep the DVD drawer from opening until I can open the cabinent and then close after I have inserted a disc? Will I have to program a delay? I would love to make it a true one button action.

Charlie Campisi

Screenwriter

Does your dvd drawer open automatically when you turn the player on? I always wondered why there was a button on the remote to open the drawer. Never made much sense to me since I had to be standing next to the dvd player to change the dvd anyway. I guess that's why I don't understand your question. Why can't you just open the drawer without the remote when you are putting in the dvd?

mylan

Screenwriter