What's new

Remote Switch Boxes? (1 Viewer)

Hey all,

I am in the process of building my first real HT system. I listen to music and watch a lot of DVDs, so these are both priorities.

Additionally, I work in the game industry so it's important to me to have quite a few video game consoles connected. Most of these are just S-Video and composite audio, which is fine. Two of the systems are component/optical.

My receiver will handle the majority of the switching work, but doesn't have nearly enough inputs to cover everything, which means using switch boxes.

Another priority of mine is have as many functions macro accessible as possible - one button and everything sets itself to the PS2 for audio/video. Another button, it goes to the DVD. To my understanding, this means remote controlled switch boxes.

I am not sure how to connect everything in an efficient manner though. I have a fairly good learning remote so long macros don't bother me.

My receiver is a Yamaha HTR-5550 with the following inputs.

- DVD (Component, S-Vid, Composite, Optical)
- CBL (Component, S-Vid, Composite, Optical)
- VCR (S-Video, Composite)
- AUX (Composite)
- CD (Composite, Coaxial, Optical)
- MD (Composite, Optical)

I need to connect the following devices to this:

- DVD (Component, Optical)
- DirecTV (S-Video, Optical)
- VCR (Composite)

- XBox (Component, Optical)
- PS2 (Component, Optical)
- GameCube (S-Video, Composite)
- PS1 (S-Video, Composite)
- Dreamcast (S-Video, Composite)
- N64 (S-Video, Composite)

- AudioTron MP3 (Composite or Optical)
- CD-Changer (Composite or Optical)

So, in total, I'm trying to put nine A/V devices into four video inputs, and two audio only devices into two audio inputs. Factor in the myriad number of connection types and it becomes pretty hard to work with.

I figure I'll nead at least two switch boxes to pull it off, but even then I'm not sure what will need to be put into each switch box.