remote dimmer for lamp?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Eric Samonte, May 23, 2002.

  1. Eric Samonte

    Eric Samonte Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 1999
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a remote dimmer for lamps other than the X10 modules? I seem to be having difficulties with X10 these days, sometimes responding, at times not at all. I would also like an IR responding thingy......so I can just use any remote and not have to buy a converter or what not.
     
  2. Leo A. Chimo

    Leo A. Chimo Agent

    Joined:
    May 6, 1999
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eric-

    If your X10 is intermittently responding, you might have a device causing interference on the line. I had a house with about 15 X-10 devices, and one day 4 of them stopped responding (most of the time). I later discovered that a small tv that I plugged into my kitchen (directly into the outlet) was generating interference that caused part of the house to stop working. I corrected this problem by first plugging the tv into a good surge protector. This had the effect of stopping the tv from spreading interference to the rest of the house.

    Chimo
     
  3. RoyB

    RoyB Extra

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed a remote dimmer for my living room chandelier and it works great...what a cool feature! I bought it at home depot and it replaces the wall switch. It works even better than I had hoped.

    Roy
     
  4. Eric Samonte

    Eric Samonte Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 1999
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its really a cool thing, especially when doing a demo for guest. But I'm stuck with using lamps in the living room and I was hoping there a better remote dimmer than X10's.
     

Share This Page