Reletively inexpensive turntable cartridge?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Matt Stone, Dec 20, 2004.

1. Matt Stone

Matt Stone Lead Actor

I've been using my parents old turntable for a few months, and I'm loving it, but it still has the stock cartridge (Sony turntable circa 1989). Would it be worth my while to buy a new one?

TIA

2. Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm Lead Actor

DEFINITELY! Go to Best Buy, Radio Shack, online. They're easy to find. Hopefully your turntable is p-mount so it's just plug-and-play. I like Audio Technica.

3. Rachael B

Rachael B Producer

Rachael Bellomy
    Yes, oui, si, affirmative. If you have a magnifying glass, take a look at the needle on that old cartridge. Look for wear on the sides of the needle. When that goes far enough, the tip breaks off. I bet the needle must be well-worn by now...? When needles get a major wear pattern on them, they scratch your record grooves a mite bit. You may be close to needing a needle or new cartridge and same, anyway?

Your mount type will determine your options. They'll be less if it's P-mount. If it's standard mount try the Shure 97. There's lots of standard mount cartridges in the $50 - $200 range that are good. P-mount...and you'll may have to look a little harder for a real upgrade...? I know less about P-mount but I do know I don't see that much of it at audio websites I visit.

Mount type...?

4. Matt Stone

Matt Stone Lead Actor

I was screwing around with the table this morning, and the cartridge just yanks out. It has 4 pins in a square configuration...I'm assuming that is P-mount. As for P-mount...any suggestions on brands? Not looking for anything pricey, just a decent upgrade.

Thanks guys!

5. Philip Hamm

Philip Hamm Lead Actor

That's P-mount. I have an Audio Technica that I got at a local audiophile shop, I love it.

6. Matt Stone

Matt Stone Lead Actor

How much money should I be looking to spend? I'm currently checking out the carts at Needle Doctor.

7. matt-f