1. Visit this thread for your chance to win a selection of Lionsgate action films on UV!
    Dismiss Notice

Region-Free DVD-ROM?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff Kleist, Sep 4, 2001.

  1. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm seriously thinking about upgrading again, due to the Athlon price cut. I'm thinking about taking my Athlon 800(Asus K7V board) with a Voodoo 3 3000 card, and adding in that new HDTV board(that will output 1080i and 480P) that's coming out, plus a region free DVD-ROM and have myself a little kick-butt HTPC. What is the easiest drive that's region free, and the best way to set it up for optimal picture? (Not going HDTV for awhile, so this would be analog for the time being)
    Jeff Kleist
     
  2. SteveMc

    SteveMc Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2001
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am not sure about newer DVD-ROMS but i think they are all region free hardware wise. It is usually the software that sets the region and you can only change it so many times, but i know there are hacks out there to put a stop to that [​IMG]
    ------------------
    Crash
    "I don't even own a gun, let alone many guns that would necessitate an entire rack."
    Help us get the Friday the 13th films-UNCUT. Click Here or here
     
  3. Dominik Droscher

    Dominik Droscher Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is not allowed any longer to build region free DVD-Rom drives. But most of them are quite easy to hack. Just search with www.google.com for those firmware hacks or info about the drives.
    ------------------
    -Dominik Dröscher ICQ: 25318265
    "Quis custodiet ipsos custodes."
     

Share This Page