Region coding, and its impact on existing players

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by John H Ross, Jun 27, 2006.

  1. John H Ross

    John H Ross Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Forgive me if this has been discussed before in one of the other long threads but I've been spending far too much time on the road lately (with work, tut!) and not enough time in front of the PC.

    Is it true what I'm hearing about HD-DVD and/or Blu-Ray introducing some kind of region coding at some point in the future? If so, I was wondering what impact that would have on existing machines. For example, if in 12 months time WB issues a title on HD-DVD region coded "1" would it not refuse to play on players manufactured before region "1" existed because it would be seen as a potentially "hacked" player? Would that mean existing players would have to be chipped or could a firmware upgrade work around it?

    More specifically, I'm presuming that it would be considered insane to import a HD player into, say, the UK at the moment because once region coding comes into effect it'll go bye-bye - even more so than a machine used in the States (again, unless you send it away to be chipped)?

    John
     
  2. Sam Davatchi

    Sam Davatchi Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think some of the HD discs are already region coded. I have bought the Terminator on Blu-ray and it's region coded already. It shows on the back region A.
     
  3. Mark Zimmer

    Mark Zimmer Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    4,300
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, BD is using region coding already. My understanding is that the Toshiba HD-A1 doesn't have the necessary software for region coding, so early purchasers of the HD-A1 shouldn't have to worry about it (there's not even a single mention of HD region coding in the manual), though they might try to sneak it in through a firmware update at some point. Another argument for not connecting the player to the Ethernet.
     
  4. Sam Davatchi

    Sam Davatchi Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow, that's great if Toshiba HD-A1 has no HD region coding! But what about normal DVDs and is it PAL capable?
     
  5. Walter Kittel

    Walter Kittel Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 1998
    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    666
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Sam - Standard DVD region coding is enforced on the HD-A1, and it does not support PAL playback. 0 for 2. Sorry.

    - Walter.
     

Share This Page