Refurbed Denon 4802 or New 3805

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Mike Albano, Feb 24, 2004.

1. Mike Albano

Mike Albano Extra

Sorry this will be long, but I am somewhat new to this hobby with hopes of a dedicated theater in my next home in the next three years. I just purchased a denon 2900 DVD player and love it, so I decided I should update my aging Sony D50ES receiver to take advantage of the SACD and DVD-Audio outputs on the 2900. I dont know if this matters but I have very modest, OK sounding speakers (Infinity Composition Overture 1's) that I would love to update but will wait until I have the extra cash to go nuts for my dream high end theater. So while saving money for speakers, I will eventually take this receiver and then use it as just a pre-amp.

So here is the question, which unit is best for me in the long run as a low cost preamp that I can possibly utilize for a whole house audio control in the next few years? I have found a refurbed 4802 that will have a full warranty for $1000, or should I wait and buy the new 3805 for around the same price in a few weeks. Does the 4802 have better processors? I feel that I cant really take advantage of the extra power today from the 4208 with my current speakers anyway. What do you think are the key differences and the smarter decision for me. Thanks in advance. Just so you know this is not the 4802R just the plain old 4802.

2. Elbert Lee

Elbert Lee Supporting Actor