What's new

refurb equipment (1 Viewer)

mike steve

Grip
Hello all first of all I would like to say that this site is wonderful, very informative. My question is on refurb items
I'm thinking about buying a Onkyo dv cp701 dvd player (refurb}
@ ecost.com my question is should I try and save money and
purchase a refurb unit or spend the extra $$ for a new one with a two year warranty. I'm just starting out in the HT arena but I don't wont to play musical component's and get something decent the first time, budget is limited thats why I'm looking at refurb. Already purchased TX sr601 receiver
any advice would be helpful.

Bill Will

Screenwriter
Over the years I've bought a lot of refurbished products & I've only had trouble with one of them which I returned & got another one. But it is a gamble but my thinking is, if it's not something that had an engineering problem with it to begin with you should be ok & the other thing I always take into account was how good was the original product to start with. With the Onkyo I would say give it a shot & sometimes Refurbished products can be better than new ones because they have been compltely checked out(Hopefuly). Just my 2 cents. ;)

Robert Franklin

Stunt Coordinator
Well, the only advise I can give is that I agree with Bill Will. Although, I have never purchased a refurb product. I was in the process of purchasing a Sharpvision Z9000 refurb, but it looks like someone got their taxes done before me so I missed out on that one. I would agree to give it a shot. On the other hand, Onkyo and I are no longer friends. I have had too many problems with the 3 products that I bought from them. Both of the DVD players went up in 3 weeks and the top of the line receiver went up in 90 days from purchase. Sorry to throw that wrench in there, but make sure that Onkyo will honor the warranty from the dealer. Call them first.

Good luck,
Robert