What's new

Reference level suprise. (1 Viewer)

Dan Kaps

Grip
Today, I wondered how close to reference volume (75db) my usual movie watching is. On my Outlaw 1050, I usually set my volume to 58 when viewing DD material (53 for DTS). This always seemed to have plenty of impact in my medium sized room and what I consider to be pretty "theater-like".
So, out of curiosity, I got out my VE disc and my sound level meter and checked what reference level read on my dial since I didn't pay attention to the displayed number when I originally calibrated based on 75db. The display read 71! I then checked the actual db level at my normal 58. I was around 55 db, a full 20db short of reference!
Of course my next step was to view a few minutes of TS2 at reference. Holy cow! I was a rock drummer for about 15 years so my tolerance for volume is pretty high I think. My speaks held their own pretty well and didn't sound as strained as I thought they might (NHT 1.5's and AC-1). My sub however, couldn't quite keep up (HSU VTF-2...still an excellent sub mind you). It never clipped or distorted but it got buried here and there.
How many people actually listen at reference levels in the home?

Will Ernst

Agent
From reading a lot of threads on this topic, I think the concept of reference level is misrepresented. I don't think that movie theaters deliver 115dB to the seat. I believe that is what they put out near-field, but due to the large space of the theater, what you hear is a substantially lower. I went to a couple of movies this weekend for the first time in a long time, and I know that it was somewhat lower that what I listen at home. I normally listen between -10dB to -7dB.
But, this is just my observation, so I'm probably wrong
wink.gif

-will
[Edited last by Will Ernst on July 17, 2001 at 09:09 PM]

Jack Gilvey

Senior HTF Member