Ref 30 Upgrades....where are they????

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by MannyE, Sep 7, 2002.

  1. MannyE

    MannyE Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2000
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I spent the extra money for the Ref 30 because I was under the impression that there would be periodical upgrades to firmware as well as other upgrade options. (Don't get me wrong...I also spent the money because I love the way it sounds...)BUT!


    Where are all these upgrades? There's a firewire port back there...will I ever be able to use it? What about DPLII?

    If I missed the big announcement to all thier loyal customers about the upgrades available then shame on me.

    C'mon....there can't be THAT many people spending almost 3K on a pre/pro! I'm sure they are small and short on staff...but I've sent many e-mails asking about upgrades and never gotten a response...makes me wonder if I shouldn't have gone with the Anthem.
     
  2. Jim Golden

    Jim Golden Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 8, 1999
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Call them and let them know which software version you are currently using. B&K can tell you if there is a upgrade available.

    Jim
     
  3. MannyE

    MannyE Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2000
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oops! I meant to post this in the processor forum...anyone know how I can get it moved without cross-posting?


    Thank you very much Steve!
     
  4. Brian Vaughan

    Brian Vaughan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2001
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Manny, the current software version for the ref 30 is 2.05. Apparently B&K plans on unveiling it's new ref 50 (and possibly upgrades for the 30) at the CEDIA show at the end of the month. Guess we'll have to wait until then.

    Cheers, Brian

    ps. the was recently a thread on the ref 50 that has more info, you can do a search to learn some more.
     
  5. Brian Vaughan

    Brian Vaughan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2001
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. Jerry Klawiter

    Jerry Klawiter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The current firmware for the Ref 30 is 2.07
    Not sure what the fixes are? But that is it.
     
  7. Brian Steeves

    Brian Steeves Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2000
    Messages:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually my current software is 2.08. I got the Ref30 4 months ago.
     
  8. Brian Vaughan

    Brian Vaughan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2001
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmmmmm. I'll have to talk to my dealer and figure out why I haven't been notified about the newer upgrades. Where does one find out about these things?

    Cheers, Brian
     
  9. Jerry Klawiter

    Jerry Klawiter Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    1,412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brian,
    Yep, you are correct.
    I knew that when I typed in 2.07, I meant 2.08
    I think I just had a brain cramp.[​IMG]
     
  10. Jerry St.Marie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 1999
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't bother sending E-mails since I think they fall into some bit bucket and you will never get an answer. Just give them a phone call and they will be happy to help you.
     
  11. MannyE

    MannyE Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2000
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jerry...thanks for the info I will call them tomorrow.

    It just burned me to get a Sound Advice catalog in the mail with the Reference 50 in all its SILVER glory along with the new 7 channel amp also in silver, by the way, and so far no upgrades for the 30.

    and for only 200 bucks more than the 30! sheesh!
     

Share This Page