Recording Problems with General Instruments DCT2224 Digital Cable Box

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chris Wittry, Dec 3, 2001.

  1. Chris Wittry

    Chris Wittry Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 1999
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's the problem I'm having. My cable box has an IR blaster that controls my VCR to do recording duties. It seems like every 2-3 months the cable box will stop controlling the VCR. The box then has to be either replaced or 'hit' by the cable company for it to start working again. Apparently noone else has this problem because the cable company never has complaints except from me. Now, I admit, I record a lot of TV (3-4 hours daily). I work out of my house and appreciate having a constant background noise emenating from the telly. The main problem is that when the cable company 'hits' the box, it erases all of my customizing (channel order, setup, etc) and it's getting old having to redo that all of the time.
    Hopefully someone here can help me because my cable provider doesn't seem to be able to! Thanks! [​IMG]
     
  2. Chris Wittry

    Chris Wittry Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 1999
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Somebody out there must be able to help me with this.....Please! [​IMG]
     
  3. Samuel Des

    Samuel Des Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry to hear of your problem. But it seems as though you may have no choice given your problem. If they have to replace the box, then that's that. If they have to reset the box, well, that's that. I really sympathize. I hate it when things like that happen. Try and work something out with your cable people. There's always Direct TV! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page