Recording from Directtv ?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Robert Montoya, May 20, 2002.

  1. Robert Montoya

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi

    I was wondering if any one knew how to record from from Directtv to VHS. I followed the directions but, it (VCR) doesn't seem to able to program the channels. Any tips would be great.
     
  2. Larry Schneider

    Larry Schneider Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 1999
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use an ordinary DirecTV box, run 2 sound and 1 video cable to the VCR, set the VCR to "line in." No VCR will decode DirecTV.
     
  3. Wayne A. Pflughaupt

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 1999
    Messages:
    6,123
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    6,610
    Location:
    Katy, TX
    Real Name:
    Wayne
    Larry is right, Robert: VCRs can’t “program” or tune DSS. If they could you wouldn’t need the DSS receiver, would you? [​IMG]
    Regards,
    Wayne A. Pflughaupt
     
  4. Robert Montoya

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks - I kinda figured that, but thought I would ask anyway.:b
     
  5. Mark_Wilson

    Mark_Wilson Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try it the other way around. You can tell your DTV receiver to record the program to VCR though. At least my Sony and RCA receivers will. You enter the VCR code in the DTV setup and then select which program to 'record'. It'll start and stop the vcr. On the RCA you use the 'info' button while in the guide and the Sony uses 'enter' (I think) from the guide, to select 'record program'.
     

Share This Page