1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Recording CD from phonograph

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Eric_L, Nov 23, 2003.

  1. Eric_L

    Eric_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Creative Audigy 2 platinum sound card. I am trying to record some of my old phonograph records onto CD. Trouble is that when I hook up my turntable (which is a nice Pioneer linear tracking pletter) to the line in on my PC the audio is very very low. I have to crank everything up just to get it to register - and barely at that!

    Does anyone have any experience at this sort of thing? Do you have any suggestions?

    Thanks
     
  2. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,788
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    You're probably going to need a phono preamp stage in between the record player output and the audio card input.

    Does your receiver have a phono input? If so, you'd use that for the phono preamp stage.
     
  3. Eric_L

    Eric_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    NM - bought a $39 memorex pream and all is well now.
    Thanks
     
  4. Michael Harris

    Michael Harris Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Other option is to feed your phono input to a traditional integrated amp, or amp-preamp, or receiver (you get the idea) and the computer into record outs on the amp. I just treat my PC as if it were just another piece of HI-FI recording equipment. Unfortunately a lot of new amps don't have a proper phone input so you still may have to get a phone pre-amp.
     
  5. Mark Zimmer

    Mark Zimmer Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    43
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    So if your phono is hooked up to your regular amp, you should be able to just hook one of the unused outputs of the amp to the soundcard? Whenever I've tried that I get all sorts of noise and buzzing. Ditto for trying to pass audio from the soundcard to either the tape deck or MD burner.
     
  6. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,788
    Likes Received:
    498
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    If you connect the turntable to the phono input, then use the receiver's/preamp's tape output to connect to the audio card.
     
  7. Michael Harris

    Michael Harris Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  8. Eric_L

    Eric_L Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1,994
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    for $39 the memorex preamp has worked splendidly without me having to get out the old bulky equipment and running excess cables everywhere.

    I thought it odd that there is no grounding needed - but the sound is excellent.

    or, to put it into context --

    I (pop!) thought it odd (zerp) that (sssnp) that there is (pop) not (crackle) grounding needed - but (zwif) the sound is (pop!) excellent. (shhh, z shhh, z shhh, z shhh).

    (the record I was recording is very old. Looking forward to running it through some filtering software)
     
  9. Francois Caron

    Francois Caron Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    2,170
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    1,610
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
    Real Name:
    François Caron
    The ground wire isn't always necessary. You have to try it both ways to see what works best for you. You can even try connecting the ground wire to the outer connection of the phono plug/jack.

    I have a Rotel phono preamp myself. Sounds sweet!
     
  10. PhilBoy

    PhilBoy Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been playing with that all week...

    Try Majix Audio Cleaning Lab 4.0 for clean-up.

    There is a demo on the net.

    It seems to work great. I had it running (at least the demo) in minutes.

    I think the key is to capture the vinyl sound unprocessed with good saturation and 'clean it' post-capture.
     

Share This Page