What's new

Recordable CD-R's...Data or Music? (1 Viewer)

Tim Glover

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Tim Glover
I'm relatively new at burning cd's on my pc so forgive the question if it's been asked a zillion times. I did a search and nothing showed up so...here goes.

Is there a difference in regards to compatibility in playback if using CD-R's that say DATA CD-R's and use them for music burning? And what's the difference in blank cd's that say for "Computer Writers Only", "Data CD-R's", "CD-R's for Music"?????

Reason I ask this is I just burned a pretty cool Star Wars soundtrack compilation cd. I used a TDK 80 min Data CD-R. I used those since I initially got those for movie trailers, pictures etc...Well it plays fine on my pc, dvd player (pioneer 414), but my car cd player has trouble reading it. You can hear it spinning...trying to find the tracks I guess then finally it plays. It took almost 5 minutes to play this afternoon. Once it plays it is ok as long as you don't skip tracks!

I don't think I've ever had trouble playing Music CD-R's if my memory is correct. My car is a 1999 model if that helps.

Thanks for the patience with reading this thread!

NickSo

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Nick So
You can use regular Data CDrs to burn Audio CDs on your computer. the CDRS FOR MUSIC are for External-deck CDBurners tha thookup to a stereo system. They cost more because thers a fee on them. The MusicCDR has a flag on it that tells the player I AM A MUSIC CDR, THIS GUY HAS PAID THE FEE TO COPY MUSIC. But on computer CDBurnrers (internal or external), they dont need this flag to burn audio CDs, so normal 'data' CDs will do.

Tim Glover

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Tim Glover
Thanks. Does the writing speed have anything to do with difficulty playing back the recorded disc?

NickSo

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Nick So