What's new

Recommended Speakers for $300 (1 Viewer)

Donovan M

Auditioning
I'm trying to find a decent home theater speaker system for a second room for no more than $300. The room is only 12' x 20', but with a listenin area of aproximately 12 x 12. It will primarily be used for movies and video games (xbox). The receiver used will be a Sony STR-DE725. I've been looking at the JBL SCS-150 and the Cerwin Vega AVS-632, both of which comes complete with center channel, fronts, surrounds and subwoofer. I'm able to get either of them both for $300 or less. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I'm a newbie to this forum, so I apologize if this question has already been asked and answered a thousand times. javascript:smilie(':)')
smile

Javier_A

Auditioning
Although I haven't yet received them, I ordered the Acoustic Research HC6 system for $299 + $45 shipping from etronics.com. It has many good reviews and good comments in this forum. They used to run for $799 a few months ago, so definitely a good buy!

AaronJB

Second Unit
I've been very impressed with my new Wharfedale WHM-2 bipole surround speakers. $99 (pair) at bestbuy.com or circuitcity.com. More than reasonable price for speakers that sound like they should cost more.

Donovan M

Auditioning
Javier - I looked up the AR HC6. Theses sound to be pretty good based on reviews and look very nice. I saw them at the Factory Clearance Center website for $199 (refurbished).

Howdy,
I have owned a set of the Klipsch Quintets, and have been quite happy. I think there around $350.00 a set. You can find them for less if you do some research. IMHO, for micros you cnt touch them for sound quality at there price point.

Hank

BrianMe

Stunt Coordinator
Onkyo HTS500. Get them at circuit city/best buy for like $250, or buy them at onkyo.com refurbed for less than $200.

Javier_A

Auditioning