What's new

Recommendations ? (1 Viewer)

Dan_Ho

Auditioning
Hello all,
I was looking for a TV in another forum, and people told this is the place to ask question for TV's.. so here i am :)
My old toshiba probably from the 70's or early 80's is going bad (it starts making loud annoying sounds, when there is a lot of white on the screen.) So my question is what kind of Tv do you guys recommend ?
I don't need anything fancy. This is just for my bedroom. Im a broke college student, so my budget is around $300ish. I will spend more if theres some really nice feature thats a must have... but 400 is tops, but i'd still like to spend about 300.
One thing that it must have is an S-Video output. I want to hook my tv up to my computer.
I was looking at Toshiba at Fry's Electronics.. forgot the model name (ACxx?), but it was a 27" set, and had s-video and its price was 300. Is this a good deal ?
thx in advance
-dan

Dan_Ho

Auditioning
I was just going over some of your guy's old posts.. and i think i've narrowed my choices.
What would you guys go with ?
A 27" regular set
-Toshiba 27A41 http://www.bestbuy.com/detail.asp?e=...cat=24&scat=27
Or with a 20" flat screen TV.
-Samsung TSL2091F http://www.bestbuy.com/detail.asp?e=...cat=24&scat=28
Again this is for my small bedroom. I mostly just watch some latenight TV when going to bed. I also want to hook it up to my computer and sometimes play DVD's, sometimes play games and such. (Thats why i wanted the S-Video)
thanks

Brad_V

Second Unit
The first thing you need to do is look at the sets (or similar sets) and decide if a flat screen is important enough to you to justify the extra cost/smaller screen. I don't think flat screens are usually worth the money, personally, so for a similar price, an extra 7 inches is quite a bit of real estate.

Bill Will

Screenwriter