Recommendations for DVD Home Theater System

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Gwen W, Dec 23, 2001.

1. Gwen W

Gwen W Auditioning

Dec 22, 2001
    I am looking at purchasing a DVV Home Theater System and would appreciate some feedback from some experienced readers. I am plan to spend under $1000.Consumer Report recommends Kenwood HTB -504 but I do not see it mentioned many other places including My husband was recommended a Sony system. Any recommendations on where to buy? I really appreciate the info.
  2. Albert M

Albert M Stunt Coordinator

Jun 19, 2001
    Welcome to the htf. The Kenwood HTB504 is very good for the money. If you go to and and print out the price, Sears should price match one of the print outs. The price would be around $425 after tax. The Toshiba SD1700 dvd player can be had for $140(Sunday&Monday only) at Best Buy.
    For Kenwood HTB504 reviews go to and
  3. Jeff Sch.

Jeff Sch. Stunt Coordinator

Nov 30, 2001
    I am a 19yr old student and was in the same boat as you a couple of months ago. Please remember when reading that this is coming from a normal everyday person and not an audiofile like many here who complain about every little sound and feature in a HT setup. I have been listening to music for years and the setup i am going to recommend sounds great for both HT and Music. There are some very helpful people on this forum and please take there advice as well. Be warry though of the occasional ass who will trash talk what you are looking at buying. These are the few who maybe got a bad unit/speaker or say that $1000 system will be shi**y. These people probably have multi thousand $$ setups and just cant be satisfied and need some help. With that said here you go.