recommendations for classical music w/organs for my SVS

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by gomez_a, Mar 18, 2002.

1. gomez_a

gomez_a Stunt Coordinator

I'm new to classical music and I really like the sound of organs on my SVS.
    I guess I'm looking for CD's of symphonic music accompanied w/organs. An excellent ex of this is Saint Saens Symphony No. 3 "Organ" in C minor w/Eugene Ormandy and Michael Murray (Telarc, cat# 80051). I'm not crazy about organs playing by themselves though . .
    Can some one please recommend some CD's (label and cat # if possible).
    I have to say, the SVS is giving some appreciation for the music side of things
    [​IMG]

2. SanfordL

SanfordL Stunt Coordinator

Check out the Tchaikovsky's (please don't crucify me if I spelled that wrong) 1812 Overture (ever watch Appocolypse Now? It's what they are cranking flying over the water, "to scare the locals.") Go for a version that has been recorded using real cannons. It goes down to between 10 & 8 hzs (sure, your neigbors will love you,) and will dessimate most speakers and or subs if played loud enough. Just don't crank it though, because even if you have the 16-46, I imagine that the cannon might bottom out your sub, causing you tears.[​IMG] Then again, I am still waiting on my 16-46 PCi, which will move sometime this or next month, so don't quote me about it wrecking the sub. Hey, it's deep, it's good, and you don't have to put up the pipe organ either.
    You might consider talking to a Church organist too (make sure the Church has the full set of pipes, or else you might get a biased opinion) as folks that play instruments typically have a good impression of what arraingments sound good played by them.
    Good luck.

3. Bob_L

Bob_L Supporting Actor

Bob Lindstrom
    You spelled Tchaikovsky perfectly, Sanford. However, that ISN'T the music they play in "Apocalypse Now." It isn't even the music they play in "Apocalypse Now Redux." [​IMG]