What's new

recommendation on portable digital jukebox (1 Viewer)

Wilson W

Agent
I am planning to buy a portable digital jukebox that is hard drive based so that I don't have to carry several CDs all the time.

In order to get the highest quality of sound, I wish to get something that can play uncompressed wav files, with a minimum hard drive space of ~10 gig.

Sound quality is my main concern here, I would rather have a few hours of good uncompressed sound rather than 5000 hours of mp3.

Any thing out there that fits my needs? Owners of such devices please post your thoughts. Thanks.

KeithH

Senior HTF Member
Wilson, I am not an expert in this area, as I don't own such a unit, but the Creative Labs Nomad jukeboxes have always gotten good reviews from what I have seen. I have considered getting one myself. I would use it with .WAV files instead of MP3s, which the Nomad can handle.

Wilson W

Agent
thanks Keith, I have checked on the nomad line and found 3 candidates:

nomad jukebox 2, jukebox 3, and zen

recording function is not very important, but I wonder if any one knows the playback sound quality of these 3. are they using the same electronics and are essentially the same?

also, the headphone amp on these units, anyone might know what they are rated? are they the same? even their website wasn't clear.

KeithH

Senior HTF Member
Wilson, no problem. Unfortunately, I can't help you with regard to sound quality of the Nomad jukeboxes. You should be able to find them Best Buy and Circuit City if you want to take one home for a test. You could always return it.

JohnnyG

Screenwriter
I bought the original Nomad Jukebox with a 10GB drive in August and recently upgraded to the new Jukebox 2. The sound quality is very good and, as far as I know, the 2, 3 and Zen all have the same audio quality. The Jukebox 2 does not have a line-out, but the headphone jack works just fine and a couple ticks below maximum volume seems to generate a normal line out level.