Recommendation for Budget Headphones

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Tim_Wetzel, Dec 27, 2001.

1. Tim_Wetzel

Tim_Wetzel Stunt Coordinator

Hi!

I am a novice when it comes to home theater, but I know absolutely _nothing_ when it comes to headphones. I am looking for some to use with my computer so that I can test mp3's that I extract and encode. (My computer speakers are easily overpowered.) I am not looking to spend much money, but I do need them to sound good. The mp3 errors that sometimes occur for me are noise artifacts from ripping and/or strange high-frequency bleeding (the high stuff seems to be saturated into one sound) from encoding; these are what I need to detect. I don't really know what the preferred features of good headphones are; what constitutes good/bad quality?.

What would you recommend and where should I look to purchase headphones? What attributes should I be pay attention to when shopping?

Thanks!

Tim

2. Dan_Jones

Dan_Jones Stunt Coordinator

I'd go with the Grado SR-60's if I was you. They can be had for about $65 if you search around. Call up some local vendors and what not. If you'd like to spend a bit more, go with the SR-80s (I have these) for about $90. Both don't require amplification (like many do), and both sound fantastic. Go over to Audio Review and look up the Grado's...raving reviews!

3. Tim_Wetzel

Thanks, Dan! I'll check them out ASAP!

Tim

4. Tim_Wetzel

Do you use your 80s with an amplifier? I read that the 80s don't require one, but that it's recommended to utilize the full capabilities of the headphones. I won't be using an amplifier (not for now, at least), so this will affect my decision.

Also, where should I be shopping for these?

Thanks!

Tim

5. Nick G

Nick G Stunt Coordinator