recomendations wanted for video editing

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Miles Lucasso, Nov 20, 2002.

1. Miles Lucasso

Miles Lucasso Stunt Coordinator

Hi all-

Im in the market for a new PC to do video editing on my home videos.
    Can anyone suggest what I should look for in a computer?
    As in hard drive size, ports, etc.
    Also is there a good software program, easy to use with decent results?

I'm a complete novice at this.

thanks,

-miles

2. Jeff Kleist

Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

First off, don't buy it at a chain store
    If you're looking at going to DVD, you should be working in DV. You want a capture card from Pinnacle or Canopus.
    For HD size, you really should use a dedicated drive. Take the longest project you think you'll be working on and use this formula
    Minutes divided by 4 times 3 will give you the number of Gigabytes
    So if you're doing an hour long project
    60/4x3= 45GB
    Trust me when I say this, this is a good formula [​IMG]
    Adobe Premiere will come with either one of those programs, and it's the best program out ther at this time.

3. Christian Behrens

Christian Behrens Supporting Actor

Christian Behrens
    I think you should also have a look at the new iMac with a Superdrive (i.e. DVD burner). It comes directly with iMovie and iDVD, which should cover home use.

And if you get really into it, Final Cut Pro is considered (at least from several independent sources I have seen) the best out there, cross-platform!

Just a thought.

-Christian

4. Jeff Kleist

Final Cut Pro is an excellent program

Other than that, see the Mac vs PC wars. If you want a computer that can do something other than video editing and graphic work, in addition (like games) don't bother with a Mac

5. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

6. Michael*K

Michael*K Screenwriter

7. Ken Chan

Ken Chan Producer

Come on; you can certainly do email, surf the web, manage music, write papers, and do lots of other things on a Mac.