Reciever 'Sound Quality'

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JasonKMonroe, Nov 28, 2001.

1. JasonKMonroe

JasonKMonroe Auditioning

OK...I am new to the forum, and currently building a home theatre. I have been reading all over the place about different recievers and how one sounds better than the other. Now, I am relatively new at this, and am trying to find a reciever that I like that also happens to be upgradable in the future.

What I want to know is, how does one reciever sound better than the other? The reciever takes audio tracks, decodes them, then sends them to the speakers. How can a human possibly detect such subtle differences? OK, cheap generic recievers will have some white noise, but where is the real difference? A 10KHz tone is a 10Khz tone whether it comes from a Denon, Onkyo, Yamaha, whatever. So will someone please explain to me what specifically makes a reciever sound better?

I dont want to start a big argument on the subject, I would just like someone to explain it to me in technical terms if possible, I really just dont know...thanks

- Jason

2. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

i can't say from a technical point of view, but you'll often hear of people saying that one amp sounds "brighter" or "warmer" or "muddier" or "tighter" than another.
    i often think this is attributed to the components inside. perhaps the electronics they use is different (with different sonic characteristics) and this is what makes them sound different.
    i also suspect the quality of the electronics is a factor. if one capacitor works better than another, then the amount of sound that is capable of being reproduced will be different...this also will translate into a different sound.
    like i said, i'm pretty much just guessing here...if anyone else has comments or corrections on my post please chime-in!
    [​IMG]

3. Bob_M

Bob_M Stunt Coordinator

Jason,