Recent upgrade to Dish6000 - what was it?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Paul W, Aug 29, 2001.

  1. Paul W

    Paul W Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 1999
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Earlier this month, I received notification that there was an upgrade available for download.
    Anybody know what is was?
    Thanks,
    ------------------
    [​IMG] Paul Warren
    Hey fella . . . I bet you're still livin' in your parent's cellar . . . downloading pictures of Sarah Michelle Gellar . . . and posting "Me too!" like some brain-dead AOL-er . . . I should do the world a favor and cap ya' like Old Yeller . . . you're just about as useless as MPEGs [sic] to Hellen Keller.
     
  2. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The new upgrade now allows you to stretch 4.3 1080i upconverted programming such as when HBO or your local digital channels is not broadcasting true HD but upconverting there 4.3 programming....
    ------------------
     
  3. Matt_Stevens

    Matt_Stevens Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2000
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How does one get his receiver upgraded? Is it automatic? My father just installed his new DISH system on Monday.
    ------------------
    www.deceptions.net/superman
     
  4. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you do not have your 6000 set to "ask me first" in the set up menu, it will be automatic..If you just connected your 6000 this past week, when you first activated it you received the latest software upgrade...
    ------------------
    [Edited last by Mike I on August 30, 2001 at 06:45 AM]
     
  5. Paul W

    Paul W Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 1999
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool.
    Thanks
    ------------------
    [​IMG] Paul Warren
    Hey fella . . . I bet you're still livin' in your parent's cellar . . . downloading pictures of Sarah Michelle Gellar . . . and posting "Me too!" like some brain-dead AOL-er . . . I should do the world a favor and cap ya' like Old Yeller . . . you're just about as useless as MPEGs [sic] to Hellen Keller.
     
  6. Lee L

    Lee L Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2000
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have to turn the reciever off for a few minutes before it will start to download the new software, I almost never do so I missed it at first. Once the download starts you will see the lights blink like a modem TxRx light until it is done, then just turn the box on and you are good to go.
     
  7. Sean_S

    Sean_S Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this the same update that came out a couple of months ago? Or is there a 'newer' update? My receiver is set to update w/o my permission, so I haven't noticed.
    Sean
    ------------------
     
  8. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The lastest update was the last week in July...You probably received it if you turn your 6000 off at night when not using it..
    ------------------
     
  9. Mike I

    Mike I Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2000
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In the system information menu on the 6000 the software version will be listed..The latest software version is 750PCNAD-N
    ------------------
     

Share This Page