Receiver with component switching.

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Adam Brandner, Jan 9, 2004.

  1. Adam Brandner

    Adam Brandner Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think this post belongs here, though I did debate putting it in the TV section. Anyway, I bought a 36" Sony Wega HS510 this week. As it is an HD ready TV, I would like to hook up an HD signal to it at some point in the near future. Here is my problem. My surround sound system is a Kenwood HTB-503. I've been pretty happy with it so far, and have fallen in love with the s-video switching feature. It's just so nice to be able to turn one dial and go from my TV signal to DVD to PS2 to Gamecube, and just have everything "work". I am often annoyed when I'm at a friend's house, and people have trouble getting the audio and video signals to match up, due to the confusion of having 4 or 5 remotes laying around.

    My receiver doesn't offer component video switching, so I was thinking of buying a new one that does, so that I can use progressive scan on my Toshiba DVD player (forget the model number right now) and hook up an HD cable box through my receiver. Here's the tricky part. I'd really like to keep everything on a single video input on the TV like I do now, so that I can just forget about that remote, and use the receiver to switch all of the audio and video. But, if I have the receiver hooked to the TV via component cables, will I then need component cables for every piece of equipment that I own? I have Monster s-video for my PS2 and Gamecube, which is good enough I think.

    So, do I look for a receiver with more than 2 component ins (tough to find, apparently), or will some receivers convert any s-video signals to component (even if the quality stays at s-video's level)? I hope that's not too confusing. I would appreciate any advice anyone can give me. Thanks.
     
  2. John S

    John S Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There is no good way around it.

    Be prepared to switch your inputs.
     
  3. Mort Corey

    Mort Corey Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The Denon 3803 has two component inputs and one out. It will convert any S-video input to component (as well as composite to component but I've read that it's a little shakey in that area) The 5803 also does conversion and has three component inputs.....little (lot) more money though.

    Mort
     
  4. Adam Brandner

    Adam Brandner Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Perfect! I'll have to pick up a 3803 before I get an HD signal. Is that the only
     
  5. josh.s

    josh.s Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You could also do a search on these forums for a thread about inexpensive video switching. I personally use the Audio Authority 1154 to do my audio and video switching. It doesn't have a remote, but does the switching automatically between 4 inputs when it senses a new source. If you're not ready for an entirely new receiver just yet and need more than the 2 offered by the Denon or something similar, you should be able to find the AA 1154 for $150-200.
     
  6. Mort Corey

    Mort Corey Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I beleive that the newer Yamaha 2400 does video conversion as well. Should be in the same sub-1000 price range as the Denon and with a few additional nifty features for setup.

    Mort
     
  7. Patrick CF

    Patrick CF Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the Sony 1000ES receiver. I am in the same situation as you, in that I use component connections for my DVD player and I eventually will get HDTV and I want to minimize the number of component wires going to my TV.

    The 1000ES receiver has 2 sets of component inputs and 1 set of component output. It sells for
     
  8. BrentG

    BrentG Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Yamaha V2400 and love it. It does everything that you want it to. I have 2 Component (DVD and X-Box), 1 S-Video (Direct TV), and 1 Composite video (VCR) hooked up to it. All are out put through the Component out to the TV, simple and easy.

    Great remote for running all the differnt stuff also, you can get it for the $700 area online.
     
  9. Adam Brandner

    Adam Brandner Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Am I correct in assuming that the Denon and Yamaha receivers both have component inputs that are capable of receiving an HD signal? Or is there no difference in component inputs?
     
  10. Jack Shappa

    Jack Shappa Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use the 3803 to take the input from my HTPC as well as my HDTV cable box, then pass them both on to the component inputs on my L300U projector. Works great, and has the bandwidth (100) to pass the signals along untainted.

    - Jack
     
  11. BrentG

    BrentG Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes they do. I don't have HDTV but I run my X-Box through it in HD to my Hitachi rear projector
     

Share This Page