What's new

Receiver to match Klipsch Synergy Series speakers?? (1 Viewer)

George Freeon

Auditioning
Hey guys,

I'm a NEWBIE here, and was wondering if y'all could help me out really quick...I've read through many many of these threads, and you guys definitely know what you're talking about. And that is why I come to you for help...

I just purchased a new set of Klipsch Synergy speakers - a pair of SF-3's, a SC-3, a pair of SS-3's, and a KSW-12. Yes, I know, many of you may ask why, why didn't I go with Reference series. You see, I got these at 60% off retail, so all of it only cost me $900. And from what I've read, seen, heard, Synergy's aren't all that bad.

But now comes the tricky part...finding a good receiver to power these puppies. I do probably 75% home theatre, 25% music. I hear that Yamaha's aren't that great for Klipschs' because the speakers are already forward sounding. Is this because Yamaha's produce really clean, bright sounds? Is this the same case for Onkyo's? I like that Onkyo's have THX Select Certification, but does that even mean anything?

I also hear that HK's and Denon's are much better for Klipsch's. Any particular reason, and which models? Anybody out there have a similar set-up? Any and all suggestions/tips/advice will be much appreciated, as I am new to this very involved hobby!

PS - not looking to spend too much money on the receiver, probably no more than $400-$500.

cliff notes: need receiver to power Klipsch Synergy home-theatre, any thoughts?

THANKS EVERYONE!!!

SethH

Senior HTF Member