Receiver TERMinologies

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Ronneil Camara, Nov 29, 2003.

1. Ronneil Camara

Ronneil Camara Stunt Coordinator

Hi guys. At last, after 1 month of auditioning different receivers and posting/reading questions/answers to forum, I finally went with Yamaha RX-V1400. MSRP is $799 and I got it for $608. Luckilly, I got a "Welcome to the Neighborhood coupon discount. Anyways, I am new to home theaters and want to really get into speed with it. I have read lots of post but still gets confused with terms used by people. What does crossover mean? Such as this , "cross my sub over at 80hz". And another one like this, "I used my receiver as pre-out(front), amp(rear). What does this words mean? Thanks in advance.

2. Jin E

Jin E Second Unit

High pass or low pass Crossover? [​IMG]

What a crossover does, in layman's terms is remove part of the audio spectrum sent to a particular speaker. So lets say you have your sub crossed-over at 50hz. What this means is that you eliminate all of the sound above 50hz sent to your sub... so only sound below 50hz will be comming from your sub. Your subwoofer is designed for low frequencies, so it's not really doing much good to send 20khz stuff to it. They were probably refering to the built in crossover most receivers use, removing all high frequency stuff from your subwoofer, and depending how it's set up removing all the low frequency stuff from all other speakers. That was probably more confusing then it should have been [​IMG]

A pre-out on a receiver is an RCA jack on the rear that carries a particular channel's information at line-level instead of powered. When he says he's using pre-outs on the front he's probably taking the left and right channels and sending them to a seperate amplifier that powers his front two speakers, and uses the built in amp in the receiver to power the surrounds.

3. Ronneil Camara