Receiver Recommendations?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Lainie*H, Dec 17, 2003.

1. Lainie*H

Lainie*H Auditioning

Hello all! I am new to Home Theater, and I want to get my husband a nice receiver for Christmas. I've been reading here a lot and it seems like separates is the way to go. So... we are running now:

Receiver: really old Fisher RS-911
    Pioneer speakers ? model (they are 2 ft. tall, 14" wide)
    SA cable box
    TiVo
    Sony PS2
    Sony DVD
    Sony VCR

My husband has had the speakers and receiver for a looooong time. So what's a good start? Budget is

2. John S

John S Producer

3. John S

John S Producer

4. NickSo

NickSo Producer

Nick So
    Yeah, I agree with john in his second post... do a bit of research, and peice together a system... it'll sound much better than buying a HT in a Box... there have been several threads recently about people looking for a HT around that price range...

5. ken-m

ken-m Agent

everything looks good on the second suggestion except the klh sub. i had to return two of these because the auto on/off feature didn't work. also the first one had a buzzing sound that would emitt from the cone. the sony would be a better buy. i listened to the sony and it can really pour on the sound. very good choice for the money.

6. Lainie*H

Lainie*H Auditioning

Thanks you guys for the suggestions. This will be an awesome Christmas gift! Any other ideas are welcome!

7. John S

John S Producer

Yes, after reading some reviews, get the Sony Sub!!!!
    At that price, and for the stark contrast in reviews, definetly get the Sony Sub.

12" Sub, is really the minimum I would suggest. That is the only real down side of the Onkyo HTIB really.
    8" sub, with a rated 100w x 5 reciever, not a good match.

I wish I could see his face when he gets the setup from Santa!!!!!

8. Bill Will

Bill Will Screenwriter