What's new

Receiver problem (1 Viewer)

dveeder

Auditioning
Real Name
Derrick
Sorry for the wall of text but I am going to try to include every bit of info. I am basically an audio novice, however I am a tier 2 tech support lead at an ISP and have very good troubleshooting skills, so I think I know WHAT the issue is, but dont know how to fix it. I have a 37" Hyundai LCD TV with HDMI inputs, but the speakers crack so I have all of the audio running through a SONY STR-DG710 6.1 Receiver. For components I have:

Computer (audio only with an phono from my sound card to analog to the receiver so I can game in surround sound) TV input
XBOX 360 - HDMI video 2
PS3 - HDMI BD
Wii - video 1 (I had to rig this one bc I had the same issue. I have the composite audio into the reciever but i have the video straight into the TV)

I got a HD DVR recently from my cable company. I tried plugging this where the PS3 is bc, face it, 1 HDMI cable is easier then 5 component cables. I got picture but no audio. So i tried plugging it up component into the SAT input. I got audio but no picture.

I think the issue is SONY has the reciever set up to HDMI as default, but for the life of me, I cannot find the option to turn on composite or component video

**EDIT** My parents have the 7.1 upgrade to this model and I had the same problem when I hooked up theirs.

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member
Derrick,

That receiver is what is known as a "pass-thru" receiver. This means the HDMI signal only "passes through" the receiver and audio/video is not processed, aside from switching it from one input to the next. So you cannot get audio from the HDMI input, only video. You must utilize one of the optical/coax digital inputs for audio. Assign the proper input to the DVR input, then connect the proper cable.