What's new

receiver overkill? (1 Viewer)

Joe Bachich

Auditioning
I'm a newbie in home theater and am looking at outfitting my room with some nice equipment. My room is in a basement and is +/- 12 x 22. I was thinking of getting something like the Denon 5800 or the 5803 (when released) or a B&K av307. Would this level of quality be overkill/a waste of money or would I really appreciate the difference versus a lesser model

EricHaas

Supporting Actor
Conventional wisdom says your speakers should be of a decent quality for you to notice differences between expensive and inexpensive amps/preamps. Beyond that, there is no conventional wisdom, except most people agree that going from low to high end makes *some* sonic difference. Many people will tell you to go with separates for that kind of budget. Others will tell you to go with a less expensive hub and put the extra cash into the loudspeakers. You're going to have to demo it and let your ears guide you.

Differences between flagship and mid-level receivers (e.g. Denon 3802), tend to be primarily wattage per channel. You are paying for a beefier amp. You also get an obscene number of additional inputs, and I wonder how anyone can use all of them. Featurewise, you'll get almost everything on a $1000 unit. However, they do reserve a few good features here and there for the flagship. But mostly it is the ampliflier. Difference between mid-level and budget receivers (e.g. Denon 1802) tends to be wattage AND lots of features which vary in importance depending on the individual.

If you are set on that caliner of receiver, you might also consider the new Pioneer Elite flagship. That is the one I would get for myself if I had the money for a flagship. That auto-calibration feature is way cool...

Jeremy Hegna

Supporting Actor
Only you can answer that question.