Receiver for under $1K

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by NoahL, Apr 5, 2004.

1. NoahL

NoahL Auditioning

I just bought a new house and will be upgrading our home theater/audio system. I got a deal on Totem Arros for the speakers and a Velodyne DD 15" sub. Next is the receiver. I was leaning towards the PE VSX-53TX or the Dennon 3805, mainly because the local stereo place had them to listen to, but I'm open. I am very new to this so its difficult to know what i should be looking for. I am probably about 70/30 HT to CD listening.

thanks in advance for the advice.

2. Justin_D

Justin_D Stunt Coordinator

H/K AVR-7200 @ onecall is usually around $800, wait for it to drop to that, and jump on it. Suposidly its pretty much the best deal under a grand at this point in time.

3. MikeRP

MikeRP Supporting Actor

The HK would be great but I'd really consider the 53TX they are wonderful receviers and you have second generation MCACC.

Denon's auto cal is first generation but I'd bet it is good.

HK's amps are very good. But, I'd rather have the 8000 over the 7200. IMHO....

Good Luck

Mike

4. TimMc

TimMc Stunt Coordinator

Both are fine choices. So is the 7200 (which I would prefer to the 8000 [​IMG] ). And there are plenty of others - which should make this fun!

The MCACC on the PE's is very good. The Denon has Dolby ProLogic IIx, which many think is quite a plus (the PE 53TX has "just" PLII). The HK7200 has a good solid amp section and Logic-7, but not PLIIx.

Other well-known & commonly available choices in this general price range probably include the Yamaha 1400 & 2400, which have both YPAO (think a MCACC equivalent w/ parametric equalizer, etc.) and PLIIx. And there are others, but I either don't have them or haven't heard them recently (which means they aren't PLIIx) so I really should leave those for others to comment on.