What's new

Receiver for home theater and outdoor speakers (1 Viewer)

bulldog72

Auditioning
Real Name
Ryan
Just moved into a house that has existing speakers and wires. I am a total beginner, trying to figure out which receiver to buy. It doesn’t have to be fancy or high quality. I just want something at a reasonable price that gets the job done...doesn’t have to be super high quality. After some Internet searching, I am confused by how many channels and zones I need. I have 5 speakers and a sub for the TV in the living room (typical 5.1 if I understand the terminology). There are also 4 outdoor speakers. Finally, there is one speaker in the master bedroom which I really don’t have to include if it makes the setup more complicated.

Can someone please recommend a receiver? Is there other pertinent information that I need to provide to allow for a recommendation?

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Sounds like two zones, or three if you count the bedroom. You need a standard AVR with a Zone 2 output (maybe Zone 3 as well), and a separate multichannel amp to power the speakers on the secondary zones.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Last edited:

bulldog72

Auditioning
Real Name
Ryan
Thanks Wayne. I think 2 zones will be fine. So, with 5 speaker surround sound I just need a 5.1 channel AVR? Would the separate multichannel amp plug into the AVR so I could control music outdoors and TV sound indoors all from the same unit?
Alternatively, is there an AVR that would power all 10 speakers without the separate amp? If so, is it just more economical to get a standard 2 zone AVR and separate amp as you mentioned?

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Some AVRs have 7 or 9 channels, and allow you to assign two channels to power Zone 2 speakers. So you’d still need an outboard amp for the rest. The AVR could control all the speakers for both zones.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

bulldog72

Auditioning
Real Name
Ryan