What's new

Receiver Confusion (1 Viewer)

Dan E Laruso

Auditioning
I've been doing a great deal of research on multiple forums/sites the past couple of weeks to try make a somewhat educated decision in purchasing equipment. Being a total novice, I think I might have possibly wound up more confused and could use some feedback.

I'm starting from scratch in a 9x17 condo room--so don't think power is a major concern with that size + neighbors? All I have now is a 30" Zenith HDTV, COX HDDVR, a PS2, and two 8 yr old CV RE 25 speakers. Budget to spend today is around $600 so this will be a step by step process--here's tentative plan in order as money comes in.

1. Receiver--hook up to the CV's for now
2. Progressive Scan DVD
3. New Fronts and Center-(move CV's to rear)
4. subwoofer--(if necessary?)
5. New Rears (sell CV's for anything I can get)
6. Display--most likely projector but this step will be researched when I get there

As I said, $600 now and maybe another 5-6 eventually to finish steps 1-5.

Any feedback/product recommendations are extremely appreciated!

Thanks.

Dick Knisely

Second Unit
If $1000-1200 is the long term budget I think you're going to have trouble with getting to the bottom of the list--#6 can eat up quite a lot, as would nearly any other type of larger screen.

So, let's set that one aside and look at getting a basic HT system in place. I know nothing about the speakers but you're planning to keep them for now then I see two approaches.