What's new

Receiver audio across multiple TV inputs. Help please! (1 Viewer)

Beaustachio

Auditioning
Real Name
Beau
Hello all,

I am new to home theater and quality audio. Just to give you some perspective:

My equipment:
Receiver: JVC RX-6042S 100wattpc
TV: 1080p 43" Samsung plasma
PS3: using for netflix with HDMI cable
Comcast non HD cable box
Speakers: (2) Infinity Primus P163BK
Center Speaker

My question is how do I have the receiver produce sound across all of my TV inputs( a mix on HD and non HD). The problem I am running into is, I get the sound I want when watching TV in non HD on AV1 input, but when I switch to HDMI input to watch HD netflix on my Playstation 3, no audio is produced.

This may be a stupid question but then again, I am very new to all of this! Any help is welcome.

Thanks guys!!

Beaustachio

Auditioning
Real Name
Beau
schan1269 said:
How is everything connected?
I'm unplugged everything because it wasn't working the way I wanted it to. So at this point I am starting from scratch. Really the only input I want to play through the receiver and speaker system is the Playstation 3 netflix on HDMI1 input. I decided I won't be needing a cable box in my bedroom and if I do decide, I can live with the tv speakers. Any suggestions on how I should hook it up to have it work the way I want it? Do I just need an HD component cable?

ArmSC

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Tony
The best way to do it to run the audio into the receiver from the sources. You'll want to run an optical cable from the playstation out into the receiver optical input for the best audio quality. If you want to add another source do the same thing. You'll have to switch both the TV and receiver to get everything to sync up if you're using HDMI sources. This is because you don't have a receiver that has HDMI inputs.