1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

receiver and/or amp for my speakers? I'm lost

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by ToddAB, Jul 20, 2006.

1. ToddAB

ToddAB Auditioning

About 4 years ago I purchased some speakers - but i think i bought too much speaker and am not sure what to power it with. I just blew my receiver (5 yr old kenwood 5.1 surround - @ $299.99 - not sure of model).

I was never happy with the kenwood, and never felt like i could customize the sound at all. My rear speakers are probably too big and are under powered (jbl studio series 3-way bookshelf), and with the kenwood, i could not hear the rears well in surround mode and when i tried to put more power to them, they'd pop.

I'm looking for a receiver in the $400-600 range, or if i need separate amps and need to spend more, what is the best course of action. I have no experience with separate amps and am not sure what I'm looking for.

My biggest concern is not powering the S38's for my rears. Should I move to 7.1 and use those as a second front pair and buy a new smaller pair for my rears?

Thanks!
    Todd

My speakers:

Fronts: JBL Home Theater Speakers Studio Series S-312II
    Sensitivity dB @ 1m/2.83V: 92
    Impedance (ohms): 8
    Bass Driver: 12" PolyPlas™
    Midrange Driver: 4" PolyPlas™
    High Frequency Driver: 1" Pure Titanium dome
    Power Rating: 250W
    Dimensions HxWxD: 41" x 16" x 12-7/8" (1041 x 406 x 327 mm)
    Frequency Response: 35Hz -- 20kHz
    Crossover Frequency(ies): 750, 3000Hz

Center: JBL S-Center II Studio Series 3-Way Center-Channel Speaker

Rears:
    JBL S-38IICH 8" 3-Way Horizontal Bookshelf Speakers
    Maximum Recommended Amplifier Power: 175 Watts
    Impedance: 8 Ohms
    Sensitivity (2.83V @ 1m): 89dB
    Frequency Response (–3dB): 45Hz – 20kHz
    Crossover Frequency(ies): 800Hz, 3200Hz