What's new

Reccomendations for a printer (1 Viewer)

CaseyL

Supporting Actor
I just built a new computer, and I'm looking for recommendations for a good printer. Here's my needs:

1) I'm a digital artist, so I use the printer to kick out prints of my work, so I need something that accuratly represents colors

2) Same thing for photos, but not as picky

3) I'd prefer a color laser to a inkjet/bubblejet, but I'm not opposed to the latter, if it's good and efficient.

4) Probably won't be my primary printer initially, but could eventually go there.

5) I can't spend a million bucks. I need to keep it reasonable.

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
Lasers are great for low-cost per-print use, and for general office-type graphics. I hadn't thought they were suitable for photographic type work. What sort of quality do you need for your color graphic and photo prints?

For an all-purpose inkjet printer, I recommend the Canon Pixma MP600. I bought one recently and I'm really impressed with it as a whole. The main features, photo and general purpose printing are fast and produce good quality. All the reviews state the MP600 produce good quality photos, though not quite as good as the same-class Epsons. But for me, they're very good. Text and general graphics look very sharp; reviews generally place it well above Epsons for this. It has a scanner, and can serve as both a computer-scanner and single-unit photocopier. This functionality is easy to use and works fine for business-type scans. I've not yet tested it for comparison against my wife's dedicated scanner.