What's new

Rear surround sound speaker placement? (1 Viewer)

Lance_H

Grip
Hello all,
This is my first post and hope I am posting in the correct location. First off I am new to the Home Theater scene. I have decided that I want to start out with one of the HTB systems due to the fact I would hate to spend $3,000 plus and feel I wasted my money. I am looking at the Kenwood HTB-505 system. I have read a few posts and I like the idea I can upgrade components if I wish down the road if I so decide. Is there a system close to the same price and better?
My main question is about the placement of the rear speakers. From the little I know of surround sound systems, I thought these speakers went behind you facing forward. When did this change to them located to the left and right of the main seat facing each other and why? I will not be able to mount the speakers on the left and right wall of the room I am setting up the system in. Will it matter if the go on the wall behind the main seat in the room? Should they face forward? Should I try to face them at each other even though they are mounted to the same wall? Should I angle them in towards the center of the room? Also, the room is ceramic tile wall to wall. Will this be a problem with poor sound quality?
I read on a post I should buy a SPL meter and AVIA setup DVD to set speaker levels and locations. Is this worth the $100 for a $500 system?
Any information would help a great deal. Thanks in advance!!!
;)

Jose G

Supporting Actor
This might help answer some of your questions www.dolby.com/ht/ Both ways to set up the surrounds are used. I don't know much about HTB systems, but I don't think you would need to calibrate and spend the extra money on the meter and disk, but please get a second and third opinion on this.
Also, I would do a search on HTB systems on the forum. I think you will get a good amount of info on the better ones. maybe type in "best HTB"
Good luck