What's new

Rear Projection TVs - Sony, Panny, Toshiba, JVC (1 Viewer)

Anish

Stunt Coordinator
Hi guys,

Is there a clear favourite in the HDTV 16x9 RPTVs between the listed brands: Sony, Panasonic, JVC, Toshiba? Also, how do they compare price-wise? I know that the Sonys cost a whole lot more (correct me if I am wrong), but are they worth that extra premium over say, a Panasonic?

Thanks for any advice.

Levesque

Supporting Actor
I'm asking the same question here since 2 days, and I didn't receive any useful answer. I really want to know if the Sony price is REALLY because they do a BETTER product. I hope someone knowledgable will chime in.

Chris AD

Auditioning
I'm no expert, but I've done a lot of reading about TVs lately, as I'm in the market for a large screen HDTV. Historically, at least, Toshiba, Mitsubishi, and Hitachi have generally superior ratings in RPTVs. Sony has had weaknesses in this area, but in the current model year, has come on strong, as had Panasonic. I don't think Sony RPTVs deserve any special premium price.

Jan Strnad

Screenwriter
There is no clear winner. A number of factors will enter into your decision and different sets make different tradeoffs.

For instance:

Toshiba: Most compact, beautiful color, DVI-upgradeable (supposedly), good picture out of the box.

Panasonic: Bulkier, sharper picture than Toshiba, not as good OOTB but can be tweaked/calibrated to a beautiful picture, DVI-capable.

Mitsubishi: Great picture, no DVI capability.

Etc. This is by no means an exhaustive list, but you see how it goes.

Good luck!

Jan

JimC_A

Stunt Coordinator
I looked for 2 months before deciding on my 50H81, then traded it (same price) for the 50H82 two weeks later. I looked at everything available. I wouldn't trade my 50H82 for anything except a bigger room and a 65H82.

Jimmy vb

Stunt Coordinator