really basic HTPC question - what equipment do i need?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Richard cash, Jul 21, 2002.

  1. Richard cash

    Richard cash Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    obvliously i need a dvd rom drive (i have a 16x liteon) but what else.
    do i need a decoder card or can i run the decoding off my athlon 2000+ processor.

    How do i connect my sound blaster 5.1 live card to my amp so i can have 5.1 sound. can i use a coax lead. will i be able to use DTS aswell as Dolby digital or do i have to get a more expensive dvd rom? can i have 6.1 with it or am i limited to 5.1.

    how do i connect it to my TV, can i use RGB or am i limited to S-VHS.

    does the quality of the dvd rom make a massive difference.


    lots of questions, i hope someone can help.
     
  2. Brian E

    Brian E Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2000
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Need more info. What kind of video card do you have? What kind of TV is it being hooked to?

    The 16X LiteOn is a nice drive. Very easy to make Region Free.

    Don't know about the 5.1 cards, but my original Soundblaster Live has a daughter card with a digital coax output.
     
  3. Jedd

    Jedd Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Basically there are 2 options
    - you can use direct digital output from sound card and connect it to receiver(preamp), so the soundcard will just pass the row data (there are some issues with re-sampling on the sound card, but it's another story) and receiver will handle decoding, or
    - you can use software players with programmed in decoding (xp 2000+ is more then enough) and use your audio outputs and connect them directly to preamp ins on you receiver (amplifier), here you are limited to the number of output channels on the board, if there are only 6 of them, you won't get 6.1 that easy.
    Hard to tell which way is better without knowing your equipment.
    That's about audio. I do use my 19" as a TV, so can't really say anything about video part. (but my friend has projector and it's really cool [​IMG] )
     
  4. Richard cash

    Richard cash Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this is the full spec of my hardware:

    AMD Athlon XP 2000+ Processor
    AMD Approved Akasa 785 SE Cooler
    15inch relysis monitor
    512 MB PC 2100 DDR 266 Memory
    Gigabyte GA-7VRXP Motherboard
    80 GB ATA 133¬ 7200 rpm Fast Drive
    Standard 1.44 MB floppy drive
    LiteOn 40x12x48 CD-ReWriter Drive
    LiteOn 16x DVD Rom Drive
    64 MB DDR nVidia GeForce 4 MX 440
    TV Out System with cable
    Hayes v92 56K Internet Modem
    10/100 MB Realtek Ethernet Card
    Creative Labs 5.1 live Sound
    Microsoft Scroll IntelliMouse 3
    Microsoft Internet Keyboard
    Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
    philips 28in widescreen TV (RGB and SVHS ready)

    the post about the audio has confused mee even more now, what is the problem with resampling?
     
  5. Jedd

    Jedd Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2002
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Some massmarket cards (AC 97 based)used to resample all audio to 48KHz no matter what the original rate is. But if you already have 5.1 card with S/PDIF don't bother - it's good enough.
     

Share This Page