What's new

Real Newbie needs how many cables and how to hook up? (1 Viewer)

hofiveo

Auditioning
Real Name
Jonathan
:confused: Wow, alot of info and some i did not want to hear probaly. I am very new to this HT stuff so stick with me, please. I have old and some newer stuff. I just do not know what i need and how to ask? So here it goes.
Need help on wiring it together and what type of wire to use?

TV - Sony KV-36FS10 FD Trinitron Vega(OLD i know, people say it has good picture though). It has component video in and S-video in and regular a/v jacks. Has regular monitor and audio OUT a/v jacks. one cable connection.

Cable box - Scientifc Atlanta Explorer 2200 cable in/ out, one digital audio out jack(looks like one a/v connection), S-video out,
two audio a/v jacks out, one video out.

Sony RDR-VX500 vcr/dvd recorder - cable in/out, a/v in, a/v out, component video out/audio out, s- video out, digital audio out; coaxial and optical.

Sony STR-DA2100ES - which has all the above connections covered. just do not know what type of cord for best video/audio and where to make the connections to have it all work together with the receiver. I will be using Monster Cable cause i get them at cost from factory(DirectBuy Member only "Club"). Will do price comparison on THX series and M Series.

My rear speaker runs will be, one at ~43' and the other at~34'. have to go up/in wall a little behind tv, behind crown molding, down/in wall to connect speakers. what gauge wire recommended? The speakers are Infinity HTS Sat w/ 8" sub. Speakers and receiver were kinda a gift. I am looking forward to learning and upgrading these components in the future. I have alot to learn. I will eventually be building a home in the next 5-7 years with a dedicated HT room. I will be ready for a true experience then from learning here. Thanks for the replies. If need more info let me know. Mostly a Cable and DVD family for now.

Lew Crippen

Senior HTF Member