Real estate "flipping" ?

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by JasonF, Oct 20, 2004.

1. JasonF

JasonF Agent

Has anyone flipped a property? I am looking to buy, rehab, and sell a house in maybe 6 months from now. What I am looking for is some tips and or a good book or two to read. I went on amazon.com and did some research, but there are so many different books. I don't really trust their reviews.

I plan on flipping one or two houses then investing the profits into a rental house. Any help on this would help also.

I mostly need help picking out propertys and tips on the best upgrades to add immediate value. My wife was a loan officer for awhile and is now a Realtor, so I have plenty of info on financing.

Sorry for rambling... Thanks in advance...Jason

2. shaniceMW

shaniceMW Stunt Coordinator

try to do all you can to already have a buyer when you obtain the property so that you dont have to pay closing costs twice. i am a real estate agent and an investor. will go through my personal library and let you know which books i recommend later on. stay away from those gimmicky books that tell you to contact agents or to low ball sellers and stuff. doesnt work that way. the quickest thing you can do is get a list of lis pendens (litigation pending on a property) in your area and "save" these people from foreclosure. you can either give the people some money so they wont get the foreclosure on their credit or you can wait until the auction and bid on the property. i see you are in california and the market is totally different from the east coast. not sure of the trends over there. but if they have foreclosure auctions at the court house, if you can, go a few days and see who the players are. and ask them who their investors are. nine times out of ten they are not using their own money. they already have a buyer for the properties and they are using the buyer's deposit for the auction. that is the second quickest way to get a property. if you ca