What's new

Ready for a new display.......... What are you using? (1 Viewer)

Jason J G

Agent
I am going to upgrade from my old 36" JVC HDTV to a 55-70+" LCD rear projection (Maybe an LCD if less than 55", probably not plasma). Just want to know what all of you are using, or recomend.

My father has a 60" Sony SXRD, it is beautiful. There is very little I don't like about it, I would just like to see if there is anything in that price point that is "better". I do know that it's a matter of taste, just need a starting point for units to consider.

I am using a Yamaha RX-V4600 reciever, a Yamaha DVD-S2500 DVD player, and Definitive Technology speakers. I am quite happy with the size and quality of the soundstage, I just need matching video. The viewing position is 11 feet from the screen, or about 13 feet to the wall.

I REALLY like JVC video products, but, other than my last CRT television, and camcorder, I have little experience with them. I looked at a couple of Toshiba's, they were nice, and Sony SXRD.

Opinions please?

RAF

Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Jason,

Here's a case where you might be able to have your cake and eat it too! Since you are a JVC fan and also love the look of LCoS (Sony calls it "SXRD" and JVC calls it "D-ILA") you might want to take a look at JVC's new "True 1080p" line (click HERE to see more).

Now that both the Sonys and the JVC LCoS RPMs have native 1080p input I recommend them both. The pictures I saw at CEDIA were excellent.

Jason J G

Agent
Has anyone purchsed the new Samsung 71" DLP Model HL-S7178W???

I just got back from Best Buy to take a look at whats out there, that unit was amazing!!! It might even exceed Sony's SXRD line, just my opinion. I've never purchased any video or audio equipent from Samsung before, so I'm curious about long term in home performance.

Arthur S

Senior HTF Member
RAF

Those 70 inch JVCs look really sweet! I am thinking the RS 232 port is so you can use it with your computer.