RCA DTC100 Max Res 540 ?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by MitchC, Sep 8, 2002.

  1. MitchC

    MitchC Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,
    I recently read that the RCA DTC100 HD receiver will allow a max display of 540 ? and not the full 1080 in a HD system with the oval Direct TV dish, HD ready Sony XBR TV and the RCA VGA/Comp converter. Can anyboby tell me the truth about this setup it seems the manufacturers don't give you all the details.
     
  2. Evan Hartnett

    Evan Hartnett Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm really just guessing (I'm just learning about HDTV stuff myself) but isn't 1080i really made up of 540 lines?
     
  3. errol

    errol Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 1999
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Mitch,

    The dtc does HD in 1080i. It upconverts 480i to 540p.

    I've had the dtc for about 3 yrs now and it works great.

    Seeing the Gator/Cane game and the US Open this weekend in HD was fantastic.

    Thanks,
    Errol
     
  4. MitchC

    MitchC Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2001
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the positive response Errol, did you need to use the VGA/Comp converter with your TV ? and if yes does it work well ?
    Mitch
     
  5. errol

    errol Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 1999
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Mith,

    Yes, I use the Audio Authority transcoder. It is plug and play. Works great with the Tosh. I've also tested the Key Digital but it didn't work as well (i.e., synch problems).

    I use an AA for for the DTC-100 and and another AA for the htpc.

    Thanks,
    Errol
     

Share This Page