RCA DTC 100 Pass 480i through component?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Michael Jsmith, Aug 3, 2001.

  1. Michael Jsmith

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does the RCA DTC100 pass 480i through component outputs (I know you need the VGA/component adapter), or does it only pass 1080i?
    I just bought a Sony HD100, and it will pass both 1080i and 480i through the component connection, so you don't have to change inputs. I'm thinking of taking it back, and getting the RCA, though, because the RCA's are so cheap right now, and with DVI/HDCP, I want to spend as little on an HDTV decoder that may be obsolete in a couple of years anyway--BUT, I still want HDTV now. Any thoughts or suggestions about what I'm considering? Would you keep the Sony? Take it back and get a good deal on the RCA?
    Thanks a bunch.
    mike
    ------------------
    Consuming air and other valuable resources since 1953.
     
  2. Jim Ferguson

    Jim Ferguson Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 1998
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On the RGBHV output the DTC100 only will put out 1080I, for HDTV material, or 540P for everything else. It does not have a component output (YPrPB).
     
  3. Michael Jsmith

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks, Jim. I knew it doesn't have component, and that you need an adaptor. I was just wondering if it passed 480i. Thanks for the info--I guess I'll stay with the HD100.
    mike
     

Share This Page