Ran out of digtal inputs. Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Will Galway, Nov 8, 2002.

1. Will Galway

Will Galway Auditioning

Equipment:
    SONY HT-5500DT (HT in a box) with the SONY STR-K84DP receiver.

My home theater setup was configured just how I wanted until last week when I switched over to digital cable.

With my receiver having 1 optical audio and 1 coax digital audio input, things WERE fine with my XBox (optical) and DVD (coax) hooked up.

Now that I got the digital cable, I now have a need for a third digital audio input.

Besides, "you should've bought a receiver with more inputs" (yes, I should have). Is there any sort of splitter that I could go with?

I was thinking possibly a digital coax splitter that, even if I had to have one of the two components turned off, that I could use it without physically hooking/unhooking cable every day.

I'm kinda new to the HT world and have been browsing through the archives of this board without much luck for my problem. I also check the FAQ first as well.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Will

2. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
  3. Will Galway

Will Galway Auditioning

Sorry for not supplying more info (my bad)...
    The DVD (don't have the model number in front of me, but the one that comes with the HT in a box, HT-5500) only has the one digital out, and it is coax.
    Either way- I believe I will still be short one connection without a splitter of some kind.
    [​IMG]
    Will

4. Will Galway

Will Galway Auditioning

Oh..... I see what you were saying now...
    Is there such a thing as this same adapter, but for digital coax?
    Cause that would work!
    [​IMG]
    Will

5. John Garcia

John
    sorry link didn't work - link
    I think you may find your answer here. They make coax to optical and optical to coax adapters, and then you can use the optical switch.

6. Will Galway

Will Galway Auditioning

John,