Ran my AVIA test today........

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Cam McFarland, Apr 29, 2004.

  1. Cam McFarland

    Cam McFarland Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I was testing the speakers, the right surround
    would continue to play when it was supposed to
    omly be the left surround.
    I check all my speakers, no wires touching, everything
    plugged in, so then I tried the test signal from my
    AV unit......worked great!!
    Tried it with the disk....did the same thing, right
    surround stayed on.
    Now the subwoofer, on some of the tests, the subwoofer
    would not produce any sounds.....but it was only the
    tests involving the surround speakers.....WTF???


    Is it my hardly used DVD player?
    Is it the disk?


    Anybody got any ideas......
     
  2. Alex_P

    Alex_P Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cam,

    I would check the audio setting on your dvd player. And if your reciever is HK, it does that as well if you don't have your speakers size/level setup right...

    Regards,
    Alex
     
  3. Cam McFarland

    Cam McFarland Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Alex,

    What would I be looking for as far as the setting goes?
    And no, its a cheap Onkyo.
     
  4. Alex_P

    Alex_P Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cam,

    Check and make sure the digital output feature is turned on... Check on the speakers size setting (Large/Small/None) is correctly set. Since you have a sub, I would set everything to small and turn the sub on for LFE.

    As for Onkyo, I don't know about it... Maybe you can provide some more info regarding it...like a model#... Hope this help...

    Regards,
    Alex
     
  5. Cam McFarland

    Cam McFarland Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nope, no difference, except both surrounds play
    when only the one should, on the part where you set
    the output levels, & the sub would not play on the set up.
    Everwhere else the sub is fine...

    Why does the sub get SO loud when it gets close to 30hz & lower. On my digital meter, it jumps up 20db louder around there.
     
  6. Cam McFarland

    Cam McFarland Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In this HUMONGOUS expanse of HT itellect, nobody
    (besides Alex) has a thought/comment/answer to either of the questions I have.



    I know, I know, patience grasshopper......[​IMG]
     
  7. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cam, the ususal cause of mono surrounds tones is that you are not sending a Dolby Digital signal to the recevier. You are probably just getting the analog L/R signal from the red and white audio connection. There are a few causes for this:

    1) You do not have a digital connection between the DVD and receiver. You must have a coax or optical cable hooked up in order to get DD 5.1. If you are just using the red and white L/R analog connection, you are only getting Pro-Logic.

    2) You do not have the DD or "bitstream" output enabled on your DVD player. This is usually located on the DVD setup menu under "Audio". This menu is frequently only available with no disk in the player.

    3) You receiver is not getting/processing the DD signal. It may need the digital connection assigned to the DVD input or it may need to be set to "DD" or "auto" for the DVD audio input.

    My first suggestion would be to disconnect the red and white L/R audio cables from the DVD to the receiver. This will ensure the analog output is not possible. Then try each of the suggestions above in order (buy a coax or optical cable if necessary) and root out the problem. Post your equipment (makes and model #'s) here as a last resort if none of the above works or you are stumped. We can probably help you with step by step directions if we can access online manuals for your particular stuff. Good luck.

    P.S. If you are really just getting a Pro_logic signal, when you hear true DD/DTS 5.1 output you are in for a treat.
     
  8. Alex_P

    Alex_P Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cam,

    Re-check your cable connection between the dvd player and the Onkyo reciever. Again, check the setting on the dvd players, read your manual. Tell us how is your connection. What type of cable do you use, name of you dvd player, model of ur reciever and so on? The more info you provide the better chance you will get your problem solve.

    The reason why you hear 20db louder at around 30hz might be that your sub has a boost at around that freq and that your room acoustic might cause that as well... Equalizing the sub will help it out...

    Regards,
    Alex
     
  9. Cam McFarland

    Cam McFarland Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys,

    Now that is what I call response time.....lol

    Obviously I am at work & unless I can come up with a
    good excuse, I am here for the duration...[​IMG]


    My receiver has "Pro-Logic II" lit up in the glass.

    I will try those out & get back to you later tonight.



    ALEX....how do I equalize the sub?
    I dont have an equalizer on my system, or is
    it done some other way?
    It is an HSU STF-2.
     
  10. Alex_P

    Alex_P Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm at work as well, and Jeff beat me to the punch...

    You need to get an equalizer to do that... Unless your Onkyo has some parametic equalizing features built-in which I doubt it... work time... latez
     
  11. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Then you have things hooked up incorrectly, and/or are using the wrong mode. You are not getting 5.1 DD audio as it stands now.
     
  12. Cam McFarland

    Cam McFarland Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    LMAO.........


    You dont know how long it took me to do it wrong, and
    now I am supposed to do it right. [​IMG]


    Hey, I'm into motorcycles...what can I say... [​IMG]
     
  13. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Could you detail your components and how you have things hooked up? We can try to help you fix what's wrong easier that way. I don't want to write out a 10-page explanation on all the different hookup possibilities...
     
  14. Cam McFarland

    Cam McFarland Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Chris,

    Its gonna have to wait till tonight after I get home.
    I know I have the red/white from the DVD & another
    single cable going to the receiver, but that is about
    as detailed as I can get right now.

    After my crash at the track, & the blow to my head,
    I am lucky to remember my name....




    EDIT: Hold on, there may only be the red/white...
    I will have to look again when I get home.
     
  15. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0


    I would say that an EQ is a last resort fix in most cases. I would work with placing your sub in different locations, as placement will have a HUGE impact on the response and SQ from a sub around the room. A foot can make a huge difference. An oft-recommended trick is to place your sub in your listening position, then crawl around and find where it sounds best(and flat in response too), then put it there. This will take you a while to do right, but is well worth it. An EQ can help, if implemented properly, but it is not a god-like device, and will also place a lot of demands in trying to *force* a subwoofer to overcome severe limitations in the room. IT can also not adequately fix heavy nulls as easily as it can chop back the peaks a little bit.
     
  16. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, so it's basically what jeff said. You aren't using a digital connection, you are only sending stereo to your receiver right now. You need to use a single coax cable hooked up using the digital outs on the DVD player, to your receiver, or an optical cable. You can use any 75ohm coax for this task, such as a video cable. one of the current analog cables you are currently using should function temporarily, but you should make sure you get a 75ohm cable, or you may get dropouts.

    Then you may have get the settings right as jeff explained, and then you should be gettin DD, and youll know when the channels play correctly and completely separately with Avia. [​IMG]
     
  17. Cam McFarland

    Cam McFarland Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK......what do you mean by "flat response"?
     
  18. Cam McFarland

    Cam McFarland Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why is everybody laughing at me......?:b














    j/k....as I have professed in MANY other threads, I
    know ABSOLUTELY NOTHING about HT...[​IMG]
     
  19. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Flat response is that with a signal sweep of all the frequencies, they all are the same volume, roughly speaking, so when graphed, it looks like a flat line. So that some frequencies arent grossly louder, or softer than others, due to the playback system, and the room. You want a subwoofer to be placed well so that the response is, well, flat, so that the source signals are reproduced the way they should be.
     
  20. Cam McFarland

    Cam McFarland Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sure appreciate everything guys!!!
    I owe ya'll a beer or something,

    Bought an optical cable & everything is great.
    I have done my AVIA setup & got everything
    where (I think) it should be.
    I still get the db rise at ~30hz, My SPL meter
    was reading below 80db & hit 103db when it got down there.

    I still need to find best place for sub as I still
    dont think it is as "tight" (whatever the hell that means)
    as it should be.
    I'm watching the T-rex scene in JP, & moving the sub
    around near its original spot (corner) & rotating it
    as well trying to see a difference.

    My ears are shot though, the wind noise in
    your helmet at 165mph really screws your ears up,
    so what the hell, lol! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page