rambus (RD) ram question

Discussion in 'Computers' started by MikeH1, Dec 15, 2004.

  1. MikeH1

    MikeH1 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm looking to upgrade my ram currently I have 4 128 sticks of PC 800 @ 400 mhz.

    I'm looking to upgrade 2 sticks of 512 each (since they have to be run in pairs) so the total will be 1.28 Gb and see that much ram being sold is PC is of the PC 800 @ 800Mhz variety.

    Would there be any compatibility issues? One pair running at 400 Mhz and another pair at 800Mhz?
     
  2. MikeH1

    MikeH1 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I spent the afternoon reading about upgrading and it seems this should be ok. I don't think there are 800 Mhz sticks, I was just reading my ram specs wrong.
     
  3. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, PC800 is not exactly 800Mhz, but anyway, same deal. Dependant on your motherboard, odds are you will need to get the 2 512MB sticks and 2 sticks of C-RIMMS to fill the other two banks which will now be left vacant.
     
  4. MikeH1

    MikeH1 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would leave the 2 128 sticks in that vacant spot actually, so I would have 2 @ 512 and 2 @ 128.

    The problem I'm now having is the speed of my Motherboard. Two pc utilities are telling me I have 400 Mhz fsb but the dell forums are telling me I have 533 mhz.

    I pm'd a guy that upgraded his pc and has a website dedicated to upgrading the dimension 8200 to figure out what my speed really is. Depending on what it is I can go with either PC 800 40 ns or PC 800 40 ns and/or 45 ns. Theres a lot of used 45 ns on ebay for good prices where as very little 40 ns.

    Bah, remind me to never buy a dell again. [​IMG]
     
  5. Chris

    Chris Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 1997
    Messages:
    6,788
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. Mike Fassler

    Mike Fassler Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0


    usually all ram in the system will be running at the speed of the slower parts.
     
  7. WayneO

    WayneO Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First, download and install CPU-Z, look at your bus speed and that should be enough to tell you what ram you have. PC800 is for 400mhz FSB, PC1066 is for 533mhz FSB, you most likely have PC800. Or.....look up your ram model number at Samsung's site, which will be on the sticker on the ram. I recently added some memory to one Dell computer in our office that had Rambus memory, so I'm most certain it's Samsung. The 40 or 45ns memory will work. I paired the original Samsung 40ns stick with a Samsung 45ns stick with no problems. Good luck.
     
  8. MikeH1

    MikeH1 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys, after some looking around I put a bid on ebay for some 512 sticks. They should be compatible and all, I can't wait to install, this pc will run so nice.
     

Share This Page